City Council & Election Information

A group photo of the Owatonna City Council

City Council, Mayor, and City Administrator - March 2017

Back row (left to right): Council Members Nate Dotson, Greg Schultz, Dave Burbank, Kevin P. Raney, and Brent Svenby.

Front row (left to right): Council Member Jeff Okerberg, Mayor Tom Kuntz, City Administrator Kris Busse, and Council Member Doug Voss.

Regular Meeting Schedule

  • 7:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month
  • Council Chambers
    Owatonna Administration Building
    540 West Hills Circle
    Owatonna, MN 55060

City Council Overview and Elected Members

The Mayor and City Council members are the elected leaders of the City Government. They are elected to 4-year terms; the next city election will be the 2020 General Election on November 3, 2020 with election of three council members and Mayor:  

  • Council Member-at-Large 
  • Second Ward Council Member 
  • Fourth Ward Council Member 
  • Mayor

Current Elected Members:

Notice of Candidate Filing Period - 2020 General Election - City Offices


The City Council makes all policy decisions in matters such as: budgets, improvement projects, legislation and zoning.  The Council hires the City Attorney and City Administrator, and confirms appointments to the City’s Boards, Commissions, and Department Head positions.

Strategic Plan

View the 3-year Strategic Plan - 2020-2022

View Council Meetings 

Council Meetings may be viewed on Owatonna Live’s website.

The most recent meeting will also play on these public access channels: Charter Cable Channel 181 & Jaguar Cable Channel 900 

The meetings will air at the following times:

  • Wednesdays at 12:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.
  • Thursdays at 11 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturdays at 4 p.m.
  • Sundays at 4 p.m. and 10:30 p.m.